As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.
The 7 best massage guns in 2026, by the numbers that matter
Updated
Short version: for most people, the Bob and Brad C2 states a 10 mm stroke and 45 lb of stall force at 1.5 lb. For hard training, the Bob and Brad D6 Pro states 16 mm and 85 lb. For a carry-on, the Bob and Brad Q2 Mini weighs 0.95 lb. The two biggest brand names here, Theragun and Hypervolt, leave amplitude and stall force off their Amazon listings.
Health note. This is general information, not medical advice. Keep the gun on muscle, not bone, and off the head, face, the front of the neck and any injury, bruise or open wound. Ask your doctor first if you are pregnant, have or have had a blood clot, have a pacemaker or other implanted heart device, have a bleeding disorder or take blood thinners. See where not to use a massage gun.
Quick comparison
Every number here comes from the Amazon listing, except the Theragun amplitude, which comes from Therabody's own buying guide. "Not stated" means we did not see it on the listing.
| Gun | Amplitude | Stall force | Weight | Noise claim | Battery claim | Heads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bob and Brad C2 | 10 mm | 45 lb | 1.5 lb | 40 dB | Not stated in hours | Not stated |
| Bob and Brad D6 Pro | 16 mm | 85 lb | 2.8 lb | Under 60 dB | Not stated in hours | 7 |
| Theragun Prime (6th Gen) | Not stated. 16 mm per Therabody's site | Not stated | 3.57 lb in the spec table | Not stated | Up to 2 hours | 2 |
| Hypervolt 2 Pro | Not stated | Not stated | 2.6 lb | Not stated | Up to 3 hours, swappable | 5 |
| TOLOCO EM26 | 12 mm | Not stated | 1.95 lb | 40 to 50 dB | Up to 6 hours | 10 |
| RENPHO Thermacool 2 | 10 mm | 45 lb | 1.78 lb | 40 dB | Over 3 hours | Not stated |
| Bob and Brad Q2 Mini | 7 mm | 35 lb | 0.95 lb | Under 45 dB, or under 40 dB | Not stated in hours | Not stated |
- Bob and Brad D6 Pro16 mm
- Theragun Prime (maker site)16 mm
- TOLOCO EM2612 mm
- Bob and Brad C210 mm
- RENPHO Thermacool 210 mm
- Bob and Brad Q2 Mini7 mm
- Bob and Brad D6 Pro85 lb
- Bob and Brad C245 lb
- RENPHO Thermacool 245 lb
- Bob and Brad Q2 Mini35 lb
By our rule of thumb, Bob and Brad C2 and RENPHO Thermacool 2 meet the general-use targets, Bob and Brad D6 Pro meets the athlete targets and Bob and Brad Q2 Mini meets the travel targets. Try the checker to see why.
The picks
Specs and owner feedback checked on Amazon September 18, 2026.
Bob and Brad C2
Get this one if you want one gun for everyday sore muscles and you want the listing to show its numbers. It states a 10 mm amplitude and 45 lb of stall force at 1.5 lb, which clears our general-use targets. Skip it if you want the deepest stroke for heavy training. The D6 Pro goes to 16 mm.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Amplitude: 10 mm, from the maker's comparison chart on the listing
- Stall force: over 45 lb, per a bullet
- Weight: 1.5 lb per a bullet and the chart. The spec table says 2.86 lb, which may include the case
- Speeds: 5, from 2,000 to 3,200 RPM
- Noise claim: as low as 40 dB. No distance or speed given
- Battery: 2,000 mAh per the chart. USB-C, maker says 1.5 to 2 hours to charge. Runtime in hours not stated
- 10 minute auto shut-off. Carrying case included
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners call the motor powerful and say it works well on sore muscles and on tension in the shoulders and back.
- They complain about: Battery life and durability are mixed. Some report units that stop holding a charge, break within months or suddenly stop working.
Good
- States both amplitude and stall force, which many listings skip
- Light enough to hold at arm's length
- Charges from a normal USB-C charger
Watch out for
- 10 mm is a medium stroke. Athletes who want deep work may want more
- Two different weights on one listing
- Mixed battery and durability reports
Bob and Brad D6 Pro
Get this one if you train hard and want the deepest stroke and the most stall force of any listing here: 16 mm and 85 lb. The arm rotates 90 degrees, which helps with your own back. Skip it if you want something light for travel or if you are new to massage guns. At 2.8 lb it is the heaviest gun here with stated numbers, and the maker's chart gives it the loudest noise claim, under 60 dB.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Amplitude: 16 mm, in the title and bullets
- Stall force: 85 lb, in the title and bullets
- Weight: 2.79 lb in the spec table, 2.8 lb on the maker's chart
- 90 degree rotating arm and a triangular multi-grip handle
- 7 heads, including an Air Cushion head the maker says is for sensitive areas
- Noise claim: under 60 dB, per the maker's chart
- Battery: 2,500 mAh per the chart, USB-C. Runtime in hours not stated. 10 minute auto shut-off
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it gets deep into the shoulders, back and legs, that it is powerful yet quiet, and that it has plenty of adjustment options.
- They complain about: Battery reports are mixed, with some charging problems. Several owners say it stopped running after about 10 months.
Good
- Deepest amplitude and highest stall force stated on this page
- Rotating arm for reaching your back
- Most heads of the Bob and Brad picks here
Watch out for
- Heaviest of the guns with stated numbers
- Loudest noise claim here
- Several owners report it quitting around 10 months
Theragun Prime (6th Gen)
Get this one if you want the Theragun triangle grip, which the maker says makes your back, shoulders and legs easier to reach, plus app routines. Skip it if you want the numbers on the listing. The Amazon listing we read gives no amplitude and no stall force. Therabody's own guide says 16 mm. It says nothing about stall force that we saw.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Amplitude: not on the Amazon listing. Therabody's buying guide says 16 mm
- Stall force: not stated. The listing says the motor keeps speed under pressure to prevent stalling
- Item weight in the spec table: 3.57 lb. The listing gives no other weight
- Speeds: 5. Battery: up to 2 hours, per the listing
- 2 attachments: Dampener and Standard Ball
- Rubber exterior. Maker claims it survives drops of up to 10 feet
- Bluetooth app. Listing says it is an FDA-registered medical device
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners praise the strong motor and the deep tissue feel on sore muscles and back tension.
- They complain about: Reliability is mixed. Some say it stopped working after 7 months or broke after two. Others mention charging problems and an on/off switch that is hard to use.
Good
- Triangle grip with a wider opening, per the maker
- Real-time pressure lights on the gun
- Therabody publishes a detailed safety page
Watch out for
- No amplitude or stall force on the listing
- Only 2 attachments
- Shortest battery claim among the guns that state hours
Hyperice Hypervolt 2 Pro
Get this one if you like the Hyperice brand, want 5 heads and like the idea of a battery you can swap. The listing says the battery is detachable and gives up to 3 hours. Skip it if you want to compare depth. The listing we read gives a 90 W motor but no amplitude, no stall force and no noise figure.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Amplitude: not stated on the listing we read
- Stall force: not stated. Maker lists a 90 W brushless motor
- Weight: 2.6 lb. Size 8 x 2.5 x 10.4 in
- Speeds: 5, set with a dial
- Battery: up to 3 hours, detachable
- 5 heads: fork, ball, cushion, flat, bullet
- Pressure sensor, Bluetooth app, and TSA approved for carry-on per the maker
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners like the power and say the speed settings help them match the gun to different muscle groups.
- They complain about: Durability is the main worry, with reports of units breaking in under two months or the battery dying after six. Some find it too strong for the back and neck area.
Good
- Detachable battery
- 5 heads in the box
- Pressure sensor shows how hard you are pushing
Watch out for
- No amplitude, stall force or dB figure on the listing
- Durability complaints in owner reviews
- Some owners find it too strong near the neck and back
TOLOCO EM26
Get this one if you want a lot of heads and a long battery claim. It states a 12 mm stroke, up to 6 hours and 10 heads. Skip it if you press hard. The listing gives no stall force, and owners are split on whether it is strong enough.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Amplitude: 12 mm. The listing calls it penetration force, but the unit is mm, so it is a stroke depth
- Stall force: not stated
- Weight: 1.95 lb in the spec table
- Up to 3,200 RPM. Speed levels on a touch screen
- Battery: up to 6 hours, depending on speed. USB cable, no wall plug
- 10 heads
- Noise claim: 40 to 50 dB
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it works on sore muscles and like the large set of attachments.
- They complain about: Battery and power are mixed. Some say it charges fast and has lots of power, others say it stops taking a charge or is not strong enough. Several report it breaking within months.
Good
- Deeper stated stroke than the C2 or RENPHO
- 10 heads
- Longest battery claim on this page
Watch out for
- No stall force on the listing
- Owners split on power
- Reports of units breaking within months
RENPHO Active Thermacool 2
Get this one if you want heat and cold in the head as well as percussion. It states the same 10 mm and 45 lb as the C2 and adds 4 heat levels and 4 cold levels. Skip it if you only want percussion. You would be carrying the extra parts for nothing.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Amplitude: 10 mm
- Stall force: 45 lb max
- Weight: 1.78 lb in the spec table
- Up to 3,200 RPM
- Heat up to 113 F in 4 levels. Cold down to 46 F in 4 levels
- Noise claim: 40 dB
- Battery: 2,500 mAh. A Q and A on the listing says over 3 hours. 10 minute auto shut-off
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it helps with sore muscles, is easy to handle, comes with several attachments and has plenty of power.
- They complain about: Battery and durability are mixed, with some charging problems and reports of units breaking after about three months.
Good
- States amplitude, stall force and dB
- Heat and cold in one head
- Display shows speed and battery status
Watch out for
- Number of attachments not stated in what we read
- Mixed battery and durability reports
- Heat and cold are extras you may not need
Bob and Brad Q2 Mini
Get this one if you want a gun that lives in a gym bag or carry-on. It is 0.95 lb and still states 35 lb of stall force. Skip it as your only gun if you want deep work on big muscles. The maker's own chart gives it a 7 mm stroke and labels it soothing relief.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Amplitude: 7 mm, from the maker's comparison chart
- Stall force: up to 35 lb
- Weight: 0.95 lb in a bullet, 15.1 oz in the spec table
- Up to 3,000 RPM
- Noise claim: under 45 dB in a bullet, under 40 dB in the chart
- USB-C, for 5 V 2 A adapters
- Maker mentions a 2 year customer care promise
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it is strong for its size, compact and easy to use.
- They complain about: Battery life is mixed. Some say it lasts a long time, others say it stopped holding a charge.
Good
- Lightest gun here
- States its stall force
- USB-C charging
Watch out for
- Shallowest stroke here
- Two noise figures on one listing
- Mixed battery reports
Do these four things in the first week
- Start on the lowest speed and let the gun do the work. Cleveland Clinic's advice is not to push down, and to keep to a couple of minutes on any one muscle group.
- Try reaching your own upper back. If you cannot hold it there without straining your wrist, return it while you can.
- Press a little harder on a big muscle like your thigh and see whether it stalls. That is stall force in real life.
- Charge it fully and time one normal session. Compare that with the battery claim.