Stroke and Stall

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.

Amplitude and stall force: which guns meet the numbers for your use?

Updated

Amplitude is how far the head moves in and out, in millimeters. More amplitude means a deeper stroke. Stall force is how hard you can press before the motor bogs down and stops, in pounds. Pick your use and the checker shows the range to look for and which of our seven picks meet it, using only the numbers printed on each listing.

Which picks meet the numbers for your use?

Rule of thumb from this site, not a standard and not medical advice. It uses only the numbers printed on each Amazon listing we read on September 18, 2026. A gun marked "cannot confirm" may be fine. Its listing just does not say.

The targets, side by side

UseAmplitudeStall forceWeight
General daily use10 to 12 mmAt least 30 lbUp to 3 lb
Athlete, deep tissue12 to 16 mmAt least 45 lbUp to 4 lb
Travel7 to 10 mmAt least 25 lbUp to 1 lb

These are our rule-of-thumb targets, not an industry standard and not a maker figure. The weight limits borrow from Cleveland Clinic's advice to look for a gun in the 2 to 4 lb range that you can hold in one hand for up to 10 minutes, with a lower limit for general use so that reaching your own back stays easy, and a much lower one for travel.

Every pick against every use

GunGeneral daily useAthlete, deep tissueTravel
Bob and Brad C2Meets. Amplitude 10 mm, stall force 45 lb, 1.5 lbMisses. Amplitude 10 mm is under 12 mmMisses. Weight 1.5 lb is over 1 lb
Bob and Brad D6 ProMisses. Amplitude 16 mm is over 12 mmMeets. Amplitude 16 mm, stall force 85 lb, 2.8 lbMisses. Amplitude 16 mm is over 10 mm; weight 2.8 lb is over 1 lb
Theragun Prime (6th Gen)Misses. Weight 3.57 lb is over 3 lbCannot confirm. The listing does not state amplitude or stall forceMisses. Weight 3.57 lb is over 1 lb
Hypervolt 2 ProCannot confirm. The listing does not state amplitude or stall forceCannot confirm. The listing does not state amplitude or stall forceMisses. Weight 2.6 lb is over 1 lb
TOLOCO EM26Cannot confirm. The listing does not state stall forceCannot confirm. The listing does not state stall forceMisses. Amplitude 12 mm is over 10 mm; weight 1.95 lb is over 1 lb
RENPHO Thermacool 2Meets. Amplitude 10 mm, stall force 45 lb, 1.78 lbMisses. Amplitude 10 mm is under 12 mmMisses. Weight 1.78 lb is over 1 lb
Bob and Brad Q2 MiniMisses. Amplitude 7 mm is under 10 mmMisses. Amplitude 7 mm is under 12 mm; stall force 35 lb is under 45 lbMeets. Amplitude 7 mm, stall force 35 lb, 0.95 lb

Why these two numbers

When a listing leaves a number out

Three of our seven listings leave out amplitude, stall force or both. That does not make those guns weak. It means you cannot compare them on the page. The Theragun Prime is the clear case: Therabody's site says 16 mm, the Amazon listing says nothing. Look for the number on the maker's own site, and treat a missing stall force as unknown. See all seven on our shortlist.

Health note. This is general information, not medical advice. Keep the gun on muscle, not bone, and off the head, face, the front of the neck and any injury, bruise or open wound. Ask your doctor first if you are pregnant, have or have had a blood clot, have a pacemaker or other implanted heart device, have a bleeding disorder or take blood thinners. See where not to use a massage gun.